19th Annual Art Directors Guild Excellence in Production Design Awards

The Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) tonight announced winners of its 19th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards, in eleven categories of film, television, commercials and music videos during a black-tie ceremony at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills. The awards took place before an audience of more than 850, including guild members, industry executives and press. ADGPresident Mimi Gramatky andCouncil ChairMarcia Hinds presided over the awards ceremony with comedian Owen Benjaminserving as host.

Christopher Nolan received the Guild’s prestigious Cinematic Imagery Award presented by Anne Hathaway, star of Interstellar, currently nominated for five Academy Awards® including Best Production Design. George Clooneypresented Production Designer Jim Bissell with the Lifetime Achievement Award.  Senior Illustrator Camille Abbott, Senior Set Designer John P. Bruce and Scenic Artist Will Ferrell also were recipients of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Awards, the first year that the Guild has presented this award to all four crafts that comprise Local 800. Hall of Fame inductees were awarded to legendary Production Designers John Gabriel Beckman, Charles Lisanby and Walter H. Tyler. Production Designer Co-Chairs Dave Blass andJames Pearse Connelly produced the 19th Annual ADG Excellence in Production Design Awards.
Presenters for this year’s awards included George Clooney (The Monuments Men), Anne Hathaway (Interstellar), Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything), Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything), Julie Bowen (Modern Family), Tony Hale (Veep), Mayim Bialik (The Big Bang Theory), Margo Martindale (The Americans, Justified), Kiernan Shipka (Mad Men), Loni Love (The Real), Brian Tyler (Iron Man 3),Lisa Edelstein (Girlfriends’ Guide to Divorce), Matt Ryan (Constantine) and Tyler Oakley (YouTube star). iJustine was the trophy handler.
ADG awards recognition always goes to the Production Designer, Art Director, Assistant Art Director and their team for each nominated and winning project.

Please go to http://www.image.net/artdirectorsguildawards to access winners info, photos and video footage from the event. For more info about the awards, please go to adg.org.

Period Film
            Production Designer: ADAM STOCKHAUSEN
Fantasy Film
GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY                        
            Production Designer: CHARLES WOOD
Contemporary Film
            Production Designer: KEVIN THOMPSON
One-Hour Period or Fantasy Single-Camera Television Series
GAME OF THRONES: “The Laws of Gods and Men,” “The Mountain and the Viper”
Production Designer: DEBORAH RILEY                                    
One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Television Series
TRUE DETECTIVE: “The Locked Room,” “Form and Void”    
            Production Designer: ALEX DiGERLANDO
Television Movie or Mini-Series
AMERICAN HORROR STORY: FREAK SHOW: “Massacres and Matinees”                     
Production Designer: MARK WORTHINGTON                                                 
Half Hour Single-Camera Television Series
SILICON VALLEY:  “Articles of Incorporation,” “Signaling Risk,” “Optimal Tip-To-Tip Efficiency”
Production Designer: RICHARD TOYON
Awards or Event Special
86th ANNUAL ACADEMY AWARDS                        
Production Designer: DEREK McLANE
Short Format: WebSeries, Music Video or Commercial
APPLE: “Perspective”                                            
Production Designer: SEAN HARGREAVES
Variety, Competition, Reality, or Game Show Series
PORTLANDIA: “Celery”                             
Production Designer: TYLER B. ROBINSON
Multi-Camera Television Series
THE BIG BANG THEORY: “The Locomotive Manipulation,” “The Convention Conundrum,” “The Status Quo Combustion”
Production Designer: JOHN SHAFFNER:

About the Art Directors Guild:

The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents 2,300 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; Set Designers and Model Makers; and Previs Artists. Established in 1937, the ADG’s ongoing activities include a Film Society, an annual Awards Banquet, a creative/technology community (5D: The Future of Immersive Design), a bimonthly craft magazine (Perspective); and extensive technology-training programs, figure drawing and other creative workshops and year-round Gallery 800 art exhibitions. The Guild’s OnlineDirectory/Website Resource is at www.adg.org.
For more info about the awards, please go to www.adg.org.
Hashtag: #ADGawards
Website: www.adg.org


You may also like...

0 thoughts on “19th Annual Art Directors Guild Excellence in Production Design Awards”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *